top of page

The Crunch of 2016

Alright, where to begin on this project. It was perhaps my biggest challenge for the year of 2016. After Magfest the positive feedback of my steampunk costume was overwhelming. I had received much praise from many cosplayers there even though none of them knew who I was. With all the good vibes I got from that trip I decided to undergo the fabrication of my halloween costume that I had tumbling around in my head for the past two years.

Now even though I had learned a lot from my steampunk build, I still was intimidated by the idea of building a full suit like this. I had never done it before so one can understand the nervousness of approaching such a big endeavor I bestowed upon myself. However, I wanted to do it. I believed I could and I was going to have it done by connecticon later that year. I had no idea how it would come out looking, but that did not stop me from trying. When I started on this build I had about five months to put it all together so I assumed that would have been enough time assuredly. I did not expect to be hit with moving, losing my car, and almost losing my job all at the same time. SO with that happening I had to put it on hold for just over three of those five months.

July 7th, 2016. That date was ringing in my head when I picked the goal up again. I had two months to complete it, or get as close as possible. I started with the concept art. Everything, from the tallest skyscraper to the smallest calculator has some sort of blueprint to follow. That same principle needed to be applied for my costume first. So one day I spent an hour and mocked up a look to aim for. I went all out on the details because I knew that the end result was going to be a little different from how I envisioned it to be. I jotted down side notes as I went and made corrections where needed until I was happy with the overall aesthetic.

Once the concept was on paper I went on to drawing up the templates needed. I started with what I believed to be the most difficult part: the torso. For this suit I wanted to have a ribcage styled chest plate due to the character being a member of the undead. I was very intimidated by this, but in the words of tony stark "Sometimes you have to run before you can walk". I only drew one half of the template because I knew that I was going to make is symmetrical, therefore when I go to transfer to foam all I have to do is flip the pattern for the other half. Once I had my foam cut and shaped, I took my rotary tool and sanded down some of the hard edges on the foam to make it look a little more organic. Now, to hold this all together I used simple hot glue. Not a drop of contact cement was used in the making of this, though if I were to rebuild this costume I would definitely use it for sure. I knew if I could finish the torso, I could finish ANY other part of this costume because it was the piece that really scared me. With time, patience, and a little plasti dip later I had overcome my obstacle. I was proud of my accomplishment and even added a simple tea light for the glowing crystal effect.

Not long after I had finished the pauldrons, the biceps, and forearms in that order. Then I patterned then transferred and fabricated the cuirass, the thigh, and calf armor. It was not until I got to the feet where I had met my second obstacle. I forgot to draw the feet on my concept art. I literally made them up on the fly. I had to with such short time but I managed to make it work. I made a two sided pattern using a pair of old boots, and with some fiddling made a set of covers for my feet that came together nicely. I spent the last week before the convention sealing, painting, and assembling the armor and I spent 24 hours straight non stop making sure everything looked well enough and with the help of a good friend had the cape sewn mere hours before the epic journey to connecticut.

I even went as far to make a new short sword to go with the suit temporarily because the sword I am holding in the photo was to large to fit in the vehicle haha.

All in all, I had a lot of fun making this. It definitely taught me a lot. I gained a whole new perspective on the materials I used and more respect for those who do this sort of thing as a profession. The crunch time even gave me a thrill that I enjoyed because it gave me another level of motivating determination to meet and beat that deadline I had set before myself. I used to say I can't call myself a cosplayer because both my costumes were based on characters I had developed myself but then I realized I was in fact dressing up as them and pouring my heart and soul into them. So yes. I can technically be called a cosplayer. I'm proud of that, and I will continue to do it.

SO. That being said, Go build something, and make sure your having fun at it.

Sincerely,

-Raf

Featured Posts
Recent Posts
Search By Tags
No tags yet.
Follow Us
  • Facebook Classic
  • Twitter Classic
  • Google Classic
bottom of page